Zorzor YMCA

Brief History of Zorzor YMCA 

 The Liberia YMCA Zorzor Branch was established in March 2005 during the Liberia Community Infrastructure Project (LCIP Project) under the leadership of Mr. James Moore who was later named as the first Branch Coordinator. During this period, the Liberia YMCA provided skills training in various disciplines which included Masonry, Carpentry auto Mechanics Soap making etc.

Given the involvement of the YMCA in the Zorzor Community, residents were impressed and requested the National Secretariat of the YMCA of Liberia under the Leadership of Mr. Peter Z. N. Kamei to establish a local branch in the Zorzor Community.

With this invitation from local communities in the Zorzor District, the Liberia YMCA constructed five structures which include a main office and school buildings and began to implement several other programs and activities in the Zorzor Community and adjacent towns and villages, thus giving birth to the YMCA in Lofa County.

Current programs and Activities:

The Zorzor YMCA is presently engaged in an agriculture project. More than twenty ( 20) plots have been laid out and planted with cabbage and vegetables. Over one thousand (1000) seedlings of cash crops including eggplants, okra and pepper are planted.

The Zorzor YMCA in partnership with ZOA is implementing a peace building project in several communities in Zorzor.  Six (6) Hi Y and Peace Clubs have been established in six schools in Zorzor.


List of Local Branch Board Members:

1.      Dominic Morlu                        Board Chairman

2.      Florence Paye                         Co-chairperson

3.      Nancy Wolobah                       Treasurer

4.      Paymah Koivogui                     Board Secretary

5.      Kolu Y. Beyan                          Champlain

6.      Barkolleh Joekai                       Member

7.      Flomo M. Azangoi                     Member

8.      Moses Zubah Zayzay                 Member

9.      Edwin Zayzay                           Member

10.  Jackson Dorbor                         Member

11.  Tarnue  Gorvehgo                     Member

12.  George B. Davis                        Member

13.  George Y. Flomo                       Member

Current Branch Leadership and Committee

1.        Eric A.S. Wesseh                Branch coordinator

2.        Seyeazea K. Goovi              Asst Branch Coordinator/School Registrar

3.        Mulbah Bryant                   School Principal

4.        Mulbah  Flomo                   Youth Council President


Contacts Details  Zorzor YMCA branch

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

           This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.                                                                              

Phone Numbers:  (231) 775818914 

                             (231) 886416165